//
you're reading...
free time & relaxation, Marathon training, races, Running

3 Days Jitters

For whatever reason I thought it would be a nice idea to help out my dad last weekend. I still had a week to go to the half, and he’d asked for help with garden work on Saturday.

I figured, do a bit of manual labor on Saturday, run an easy 10k on Sunday, then maybe 5 on Wednesday and then rest until the HM this Sunday.

Well. I did not figure that “a bit o’ gardening” would mean covering the ~800m2 of back yard of my dad’s new house in new soil ready for planting the lawn grass. There was only four of us working — dad, his partner, my little sister and me — so it was several hours worth of backbreaking work.

Literally.

I woke up in lower back agony on Sunday and spent most of the day lying flat on my back on the floor and holding up my tablet to watch a season or so of It’s Sunny in Philadelphia.

I felt marginally better on Monday, so decided to have a run then. In the evening. With a gorgeous thunder storm heading our way.

This is what it looked like around sunset when I was returning from the run:

wpid-imag1039_1.jpg

Beautiful. I also got back just in time.

I have so much going on right now I’m ready to explode. Doesn’t help that I can’t went in running or exercise. I wanted to try out Shin Do this evening, but then remembered that

a) I’m resting for the race

b) I got a new tattoo (my first coloured tattoo, so much ouch-er than a regular black one) on Tuesday so I’m not supposed to sweat at all

It’s the last days at work before I go on holiday for the summer*.

(*Astrologically. It’s so cold and rainy that it’s more like November. Snowed a couple of days ago, and then near heatstroke of last years Solstice HM should be replaced this year by the need for waterproof everything and layers. Lots of layers.)

And I’m kicking my summer of with a bang! 😀 Just bought the last batch of tickets, so now it’s from the planning stages to reality — flying out on Tuesday (2 days after the HM) for two weeks in New York and one in San Francisco. 

(Ooh, I’m packing my running stuff, so what are some great places to run? We’re staying in Brooklyn in NY and … I’ll have to ask my friend about SF, she dealt with that part. :P)

Have the tickets and housing done, so now all I need now is ideas for what to do with the time there besides the regular touristy attractions. 🙂

So. even though stressed about work, I have plenty to look forward to!

K.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

