//
you're reading...
races, Running, walking

Season Kick-off!

Well. Five weeks to my half marathon and today I ran the first official race of 2014 in my calendar.

To be honest, I wasn’t expecting anything close to my last year’s 38 minutes. I’ve literally been swamped with work and family obligations to the point of where I’ve hardly had time to sleep.

I’ve developed a mild case of insomnia from the stress. Seriously though, sleeping around 4 hours per night on a pretty consistent basis is not fun and is quite zombie-making.

It has had a marked effect on my training runs which are often more than 30 s/km slower than last year.

So, yes. Not doing that great. On the other hand, running is really the only thing that helps me destress at the moment. I’d probably be a complete mess without it.

So imagine my surprise after I actually randomly and without exerting much effort, beat my last year’s time today, and even ran my PB for the course at 37:59 for the 7k race. It’s less than half a minute improvement, but it’s something. 🙂 I also came in 619 out of the more than 14,500 participants!

As per tradition, my mum also ran the race as well, coming in 43:19 and tenth in her age group of 60+. I can only hope to be as awesome when I’m her age.

wpid-imag0861_1.jpg

And here we are after the finish. 🙂

After lunch and a shower, I headed out with my sister and a friend to visit a small local street fair (and some vegan banana coconut milk gelatto!) and just walked around for a bit in the lovely spring weather.

(Today also marks the first day of 2014 when I got to bust out the sandals. Yup, it’s now sandal season for me until early September.)

Here’s some gorgeous city centre Tallinn for you:

wpid-imag0865_1.jpg

Walking the tramlines…

 

The pond sides...

The pond sides…

Hiding from the overactive seagulls while taking photos of the pretty ducks.

wpid-imag0879_1.jpg

And turning into the Old Town.

wpid-imag0880_1.jpg

Here we climbed around quite a bit, visiting a totally out of the way wine museum with a fantastic view on the way.

wpid-imag0883_1.jpg

All in all, can’t think of a better day to have your first race of the year on. 😀

I’ll leave you with unidentifiable egg shells. It’s the season of new life after all.

wpid-imag0796_1.jpg

Discussion

One thought on “Season Kick-off!

  1. Well done! Looks like it was a beautiful day and it’s amazing that your mom is such a great runner as well 🙂

    Posted by MrsB | Mind over Matter | May 22, 2014, 8:21 am

Leave a Reply

Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

