//
you're reading...
cycling, free time & relaxation, Health, hiking, Running, short runs, walking, X-training

The Secret Life of Me

I was all set to do a post of my triumphant return run (40 minutes of nonstop running after a two week break) or about the gorgeous spring sunshine that makes me smile (complete with pictures) or the fact that getting a wisdom tooth pulled turned out to be not a big deal of any kind.

So I actually do want to talk about that one. For a decade my dentist has been telling me that I need to have all four removed as they keep crowding my mouth. Cue fear. Paralysing fear. I finally decided to woman up and had the first removed on Tuesday after work. I’m doing one at a time a month apart so I could keep on working. And you know what? The combo of an awesome surgeon who cracked jokes all through the procedure, some ibuprofen the next day and an overindulgence of ice cream… Four days later I’m completely back to normal. 🙂

I’m getting off course.

The week spent skiing in Sweden.

After an overnight ferry to Stockholm and a fourteen hour car ride, we were there!

image

Straight from spring to Winter Wonderland of 2m of snow just made for cross country skiing. This is what we do – cross country, not mountain skiing. Even in the mountains. 😉 While I love the adrenaline rush of mountain skiing, cross country is tremendously more adventurous.

image

You can climb uphill…

image

And rush downhill. (And yes, we did both zigzagging through trees and pissing off the mountain skiers by speeding down the slopes.)

You can go where no normal person ventures…

image

And make your own way across they icy tops.

image

Just don’t forget to bring warmer clothes for when the sun goes low and you really feel the minus twenty.

image

Do not let blizzards distract you from your adventures.

image

I mean. It might get better. Or not.

image

Just be happy that your phone has gps tracking on. (So you’d be able to get back after visibility gets too bad to spot the 50m apart trail markers. Of course, the trail itself has been nonexistent for hours.)

Get tired from being on skis sixish hours daily? Take a car trip across the border to Norway to remind yourself that spring has arrived to the fjords.

image

Even if the water is not quite warm enough for a dip. 😉

image

On the way back, decide that your absolutely have to have lunch on the Arctic Circle. Preferably a kilometre up in the mountains.

You know, Lord of the Rings style.

image

Even if the surface winds and icy slopes made it slightly iffy if you’d get down again…

image

And after all this… It was always nice to finish the day with a hot sauna, a cold cider, and the sunset view from our living room.

image

Have to say… I kinda need a vacation now. 😉

What this also got me thinking about… We had a friend of mine with me who bravely did all the adventures with us (I’m sure she’s reading and recognising this) and she compared the experience to The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, that is something completely different and a lot crazier than she’d expected when I asked if she wanted to go on a ski holiday with my family.

But for me this was a completely regular holiday. Maybe even a bit less life threatening and exhausting than what I’m used to. Not to brag or anything, but I’ve sat in a Soviet border patrol cell with my dad as a toddler when we got slightly lost on a kayaking trip on the Finland – Russia border… As a six year old, I floated down a flooded river in Lithuania supported by two airpillows and tied to a tree by a rope. (Yes, I fell in while my dad was busy with the kayak.)

I’ve spent time in my dad’s backpack on both bog and ski hikes as a toddler. I’ve been fished out hipdeep from bogs more times I care to remember. I’ve slept in tents on long ski hikes with minus thirty outside. A couple of years ago I spent weeks navigating the freezing Ocean in the Norwegian fjords above the Arctic Circle in a kayak. At fifteen, me and my dad and sister spent just over a month cycling across Scotland from Aberdeen to Glasgow with the Orkneys and Hebrides and climbing Ben Nevis as pit stops. I believe at twelve I also climbed Kebnekaise (the highest mountain in Scandinavia).

This is just a tip of the iceberg. 🙂 I guess we all live our normal and growing up with a crazy adventurer for a dad… shaped my normal to what it is.

K.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

