//
you're reading...
free time & relaxation, Health, Running, short runs

Long Time a’Comin’

I went for a run yesterday.

3.5km in pitch black where the adrenaline rush came in equal parts from running in no-light urban areas and wondering when exactly I’d stumble and fall flat on my face courtesy of cracks in the pavement.

It was horrid.

Not because of the dark, but because the 3k already made me winded and struggling to go on.

Horrid, horrid feeling that. I can’t even really remember the last time I felt 3k to be a tough run. I can’t recall the last time I woke up the next day with aching leg muscles after a run.

(That hasn’t happened after races even for a couple of years.)

What’s to blame?

Look no further than yours truly.

A combination of a week in Vienna for my sister’s wedding (no running, just lots of biking) and a three week cold  with a fever have left me with the longest exercises pause in a couple of years.

Yes. I’ve had time off running due to injury before. But then I usually swam and did weights or something.

I’ve been away from running with a cold before. But not for over a week.

And to be honest?

The final ingredient was laziness. I’d been lounging about for nearly a month and it’s damned hard getting off your arse once you’ve gotten to that “objects at rest” zone.

It’s time to me again!

Not the lazy arse chocolate munching zombie of yester-month. (My only hobby of October was knitting, which resulted in five hats and a gigantic merino scarf.)

2013-10-14 20.08.41

Anyway. Back to me.

Nothing like a healthy dose of fear to get moving again.

So I’m signed up for a 21st December end of the year run of 8,4k.

I love running when it’s all white and snowy outside. ^_^

Here’s the plan:

Spend seven weeks to go from huffing and puffing 3k runs back to sub-hour 10k runs.

Nothing else to it!

K.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Long Time a’Comin’

  1. Great goal! I’m excited for you. Good luck with your training!

    Posted by olivetorun | October 31, 2013, 12:16 pm
  2. How did the race go??

    Posted by MrsB | Mind over Matter | January 9, 2014, 9:32 am

Leave a Reply

Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

