//
you're reading...
free time & relaxation, Health, Marathon training, walking, X-training

A Picture is Worth…

Ironically, with a post entitled like this, none of the pictures showed up. Weirdly same seems to have happened to my previous post as well.

I do all my blogging from my tablet, so has that happened to anyone else? I’m going for a second attempt from the laptop now.

Here goes nothing!

***

I haven’t been feeling very positive lately. Summer indulgences are letting themselves be known in fitness levels (or lack thereof). I guess everybody can have an off week or month sometimes, but I’m ready to snap out. I need to get myself back in check.

My feet are fine, my legs are fine, my knees are fine. There are no more excuses but for the belly-o-doom that is making me self-conscious in my tight running gear. (Talk about self-sabbotage.)

I’m less than two weeks away from the next half marathon. Considering how seriously I took the preps for my last one… I’m woefully underprepared.

But am I gonna let the fact I’ve barely done any running, i’m five (!) kilos heavier than two months ago and my comfortable running pace is about 40 sec per km slower than in spring stop me?

Nope. Because giving up won’t definitely help me get back on track. And I reassured myself with my slow and steady 15km run this weekend that I’m still capable of distance running.

(But guys, five kilos without really noticing sucks. I’m gonna need a plan for that.)

Speaking of tracks.

Today was gorgeous. And since it’s probably the last evening of dress & sandals weather we’ll see for about nine month… I decided to go for a walk.

2013-08-26 18.12.23_2

And once I was already walking and loving the golden evening light, I had an idea.

I always lament a bit when I’m running that I can’t constantly stop to take pictures of all the pretty I see. Well. What if I just walked one of my favourite running routes?

All twelve kilometres of it.

(Let me tell you, running 12k is nothing compared to walking it. Two hours and forty minutes of constant walking is a lot a lot more tiring than just over an hour run.)

So.

Today you get picture spam! Hope you’re in a peeping tom mood. 😉

2013-08-26 17.32.27_1

I started off from my house on a paved bike/jogging road. It’d excellent in winter – lighted and clean of ice.

2013-08-26 17.42.36_1

This went on for about three kilometres with a brand spanking new Orthodox church on the side (don’t think it’s even open yet.)

2013-08-26 17.53.04_1

And some Soviet era apartment buildings all prettified in pink.

2013-08-26 18.03.23_1

Then I turned downhill for about half a kick of suburbia before hitting the trails.

2013-08-26 18.12.02_1

What’s suburbia without a boss-of-the-world on a gate post?

2013-08-26 18.13.11_1

Aaah. Hello my gravelly trails. 🙂

2013-08-26 18.20.47_1

Nosing around a bridge. I didn’t cross it today, but whenever I go for a more than 12k run, I do.

2013-08-26 18.29.45_1

Runners and exercisers everywhere. There is one outdoor gym near the bridge and there are several more scattered with about 2k intervals near the trails. They’re always occupied in summer.

2013-08-26 18.27.32_1

When I’m running, I never have time to see if a duck will waddle up to me…

2013-08-26 18.33.59_1

But I do always enjoy the view. 😉

2013-08-26 18.37.13_1

Even when it sometimes gets a bit urban.

2013-08-26 18.43.11_1

But overall, it’s a fantastic place to run, and I feel lucky I am able to experience it several times a week. 🙂

2013-08-26 18.50.01_1

And I’m sure the fifty plus runners (!) zooming past me on my walk today would agree. I never realised while running just how much of us are out there. Running and loving it.

And every single time one of those gals or guys appeared, I was reminded again by the ache in my heart and the itch in my feet how much I love running.

I cannot wait to be running this route tomorrow! (And I also kinda wish I’d brought a camera not just my phone today…)

K.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “A Picture is Worth…

  1. So beautiful! 🙂

    Posted by runningtoherdreams | August 27, 2013, 1:12 am
  2. Love all of your beautiful pictures!

    Posted by CourtLeanne @princessandthejog | August 29, 2013, 12:31 pm
  3. You do miss things running, but you’re also out there a lot more than if you didn’t so I’m sure that offsets the pace you go out. Besides I’m never one to not take a photo just because I’m running, it’s worth a 20 second stop.

    Posted by Ben | September 2, 2013, 6:18 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

