//
you're reading...
diet, free time & relaxation, Health, Marathon training, Running, X-training

Healthy Living

Or how tough that is when you’re in your final stage of 20-something-hood and try to attend at least some social events.

(And I’m no good at social events without a bit of wine in me. :p)

But I do try my best. Even if that “best” sometimes includes a Saturday of jello shots (yes, really) and vodka punch at a toga party of all things.

Do I feel mildly I embarrassed? Yes. Enough to not be glad that I managed to participate in one of those oh-so-stereotypically-frat-boy things before turning 30? Nope. :p

(And obviously not enough to even hide the pictures.)

But does that, and the fact that every weekend until October (:o) seem to be occupied by similar occasions make for healthy living? Not really. 😦

So, I take what small steps I can during the other six days of the week.

I eat and snack well. I run. I stretch. I do pilates (which I’m really starting to love) and CoreFit.  I walk as much as possible.

This summer also marks the time I finally beat my diet soda addiction! 😀

My saviour.

Natural ingredients ice tea bags. Sweetened a bit with stevia, but not so much that there’s a distinct flavour. I love the apple/elderflower variety (but I always love everything elderflower). 🙂

So what I do to get my fruity-fizzy-fix is that I take a litre bottle of carbonated water, add two tea bags, screw the cap back on tight, leave to sit in the fridge for 20 min, fish the bags out and then let it be in the fridge until consumed.

I don’t think I’ve had a moment this summer when I didn’t have some in the fridge. 😀 (It’s also delicious with plain old tap water, but I just need those bubbles sometimes.)

It’s less than three weeks til the Tallinn marathon where I’ll be running my next HM. My knees are feeling fine, I’m picking up my running again (hoping to make it back to 15km this weekend) and the plan is to try to take it really easy on the two parties I still have to go before that.

(I wonder if it’s a sign of age, wisdom or running-focus that I lately find myself fearing these kinds of all out parties instead of looking forward to them…)

K.

Discussion

One thought on “Healthy Living

  1. Jello shots are always a good idea once in a while! Its all about balance and I have yet to get it perfect! 🙂

    Posted by runningtoherdreams | August 27, 2013, 1:17 am

Leave a Reply

Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

