//
you're reading...
free time & relaxation, Health, injuries, races, Running, running clothes and gear, short runs, X-training

There’s Plans and There’s Life

Hiya. 🙂

Good news: I’m back home after seven days of conference in Helsinki. We had heat waves, thunderstorms, insane amounts of delicious food, an even insaner schedule of events, but mostly we had fun. After being abandoned by a friend who fell ill on the first day, I was also the only Estonian there, so I totally have English on my brain. 😉

image

With all the workshops and social events, I only managed to fit in two runs during the week. A 7k sunset run on the sides of a bay near our hotel…

image

… which was so pretty I was literally running with my phone in my hand just gushing “So beautiful!” and snapping pics.

image

And then on Thursday, I just skipped the scheduled group lunch, speedwalked to the hotel, ran for 20 minutes in the midday heat, showered and speedwalked back to the conference venue. (I mean, still better than nothing, right?)

But that was about it.

Upside. The only two running days and no crosstraining has finally taken care of my knees. 😀 They haven’t been bothering me at all for days now. 🙂

It is so so so good to be back home! I mean, I like Helsinki. It’s a familiar city and I feel comfortable there, but it’s still a lot busier than Tallinn.

image

And while, still a capital city with access to everything you could want… Tallinn feels more relaxed and peaceful.

image

image

I took my new pair of Brooks Adrenaline gts13s with me. So now I’ve run in them three times. And honestly, I don’t get what’s the big deal!

image

Pretty much every reviewers preaches them as the perfect shoe for flatfooted overpronators and I have to say I don’t like them at all. 😦

They’re a lot stiffer in the forefoot than either of my Mizunos and feel heavier and chunkier and less responsible to my movements. There’s less cushioning under the forefoot than the Nirvanas and also less arch support.

I’d say that in terms of arch support they’re on par with the Mizuno Wave Inspires, but they look and feel like a lot more heavy duty support shoe (which is not a good thing.)

They’re also wider in the heel than either one of my Mizunos, but the toe box is actually the same width, which means I had to do some serious lacing magic not to have my heel slipping out of the shoe.

Overall. They’re actually not a bad support shoe. I still like them better than any of the Asics support shoes (2000,1000) I’ve tried on treadmill in the store and the Adidas Supernova Sequence shoes.

But. Mizuno Wave Inspire comes out way ahead for me.

Lesson learned. Finally. (And expensively.) I’m sticking to my first pick shoe from now on and not try to fix something that’s not broken.

image

And there are these gorgeous magenta and back fall collection Wave Inspires in stores right now…. Ugh. I can’t. I already have more running shoes than I actually use and I have to at least run through my current pair of Inspires before getting the next one.

Speaking of running. I’m just gonna go with my gut for now on. Ran a pretty easy seven today at a 5:50 pace, so I guess despite my best efforts I haven’t been able to lose my fitness completely.

As the marathon is obviously a no go 😦 I’m gonna try to build up to 15km again in the next two weeks and then run the half marathon on the 8th.

I guess I just have to deal with the fact that 2013 won’t be my marathon year.

On the cross training front, I’m busy again. I also finally tried pilates. I’m reserving judgement until I’ve done it for about a month and actually get a feel for it. (On first impressions I don’t really get it. :p)

K.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “There’s Plans and There’s Life

  1. Nothing beats mizunos – definitely agree with you on that one!

    Posted by CourtLeanne @princessandthejog | August 14, 2013, 12:51 am
  2. I’m also a a flat footed over pronator and have the Brooks. Comfy enough and no problems with them but definitely bulky and having spent the past few months running in fairly minimal trail shoes realise exactly how clumpy they are.

    Posted by Ben | August 19, 2013, 3:03 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

