//
you're reading...
diet, free time & relaxation, Health, injuries, Marathon training, Running, running clothes and gear, X-training

The Off Month

Let’s get real here. I haven’t done any real running for a month. At a time where I should be doing 50+km a week with long runs of 30km… I’m barely doing 20km with my longest run over a month ago and that was just 24km.

It’s five weeks til the marathon I’ve registered for.

Five.

I should start to taper now, not barely be able to run for 40 minutes without my right knee collapsing. Which, unfortunately, is still the case. It only seems to be getting worse. It’s not too bad during the day when I keep busy and I still seem to manage about 5k runs pain free, but recently I’ve had a couple of nights where I wake up during the night due to shooting sharp pain in my knee.

It seems to be connected to sideways movement. (And I know I need to make visiting the doctor, as soon as possible, a priority. Unfortunately that’s still in September.)

Until then.

I feel horrid. Like I’ve let myself down, but I’m going to change my registration to the half marathon distance. And, honestly, at this moment I’m not even completely sure I’ll be able to run that in a month… 😦

Generally. My fitness levels are good, so it shouldn’t be impossible. Probably absolutely no point in time goals though.

Getting back to things.

The past week was all about my sister’s wedding! She’s the first of us three sisters to get married.

image

This made it a Big Deal to our mum. 😉 But other than that, it was a lovely relaxed wedding and three day celebration in the Western Estonian countryside. (There are no official photos yet, so here’s a snapshot of the brothers and sisters getting ready to pose.)

Overall, it was utterly charming and sweet. With warm sunny days…

image

…and misty nights.

image

And tons of Austrian Riesling and gourmet food. (I really should write an ode to the food… Amazing, fresh, seasonal, organic, grown on the spot. Delicious and decadent.)

On the first night, the day before the wedding, and before the guests arrived I also managed to fit in a sunset run after a long day of preparations. It was so lovely and enjoyable.

image

I ran on a nearby peninsula just enjoying the brand new surroundings… 🙂

It was my final run though. As of now, I haven’t run for a week again . I did so much dancing to rock music (aka jumping) the next day after the wedding that I think it was the final straw for my knee.

Basically it’s been bad enough that I’ve taken the six days off from all exercise. I haven’t been walking to places, I haven’t done the gym… Nothing.

(I got stir crazy enough by today that I went to an evening CoreFit class, but replaced all sideways movement requiring exercises with something else.)

I really really want to try even a couple of kilometers running tomorrow.

I have something new to try out.

image

😉

Yup. Breaking my Mizuno loyalty here.

But come on, shoes need to be tested. 🙂

(Oh. And since I felt so good going low-carb before the wedding, I’m now officially on day 2 of South Beach. I’m not following to the letter as I’m also gonna avoid gluten (duh) and most dairy and any and all chemical sugar replacements, which I honestly think are good ideas. Mostly I decided on this as a detox from sugar and refined cards. With all the ice cream I’ve had this summer… it’s sorely needed.)

K.

Discussion

One thought on “The Off Month

  1. How’s the knee? Saw Tallinn marathon in my UK Women’s Running magazine and thought of you.

    Posted by MrsB | August 10, 2013, 4:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

