//
you're reading...
diet, Food, free time & relaxation, Health, Running

Carb-Balance

So, there are a lot of silly things people do to their bodies. (Like running through injuries, but it’s not about that today.)

What I’m doing right now, is going low carb. Not to worry, it’s not a permanent thing. What happened is that last weekend I found myself on unfamiliar ground. As someone who’s been pretty skinny her adult life, I’ve never really done diets… until this moment Saturday morning when I tried on the dress I’d bought in May to wear to my sister’s wedding and realised I couldn’t zip it up anymore!

😮

(Not a good feeling, but not too much of a surprise as I always gain weight during summer holidays seeing how I never say no to ice cream or tons of strawberries.)

I also realised that I had five days to fit into it again, which doesn’t exactly leave you much to work with. So I googled. And got all sorts of bizarre stuff from juice to water to lemon juice with water to… not eating at all. I mean, really?

Crash diets=bad. It comes back is what I get from everything I read.

I also know I’m incapable of starving myself. I get too cranky. So I compromised. I decided to go Paleo and South Beach inspired for the five days and see if that did something. Mind you, while I also cut the calories, I still stayed around 1500kcal a day. I mean I still wanted to have energy to run.

For the past four days my meals have consisted of eggs, chicken breast, various green leafy stuff, tomatoes, nuts, olive oil, coconut oil and coconut milk in my coffee and tea. Absolutely no sweeteners (natural or artificial) and very very little salt. I used pepper and fresh basil for flavour.

In fact, one of my utter favourite things at the moment is this:

image

So. Good. A cup of thawed frozen spinach fried in coconut oil with two eggs (a bit runny, yes please) and pepper mix and feta pieces on top. Served with lettuce and tomatoes. Sometimes the simplest things are the most delicious.

I bonked badly on day two. Willpower and vanity all the way to continue. 😛

I think the carbs from before carried me through my run on day one without any problems, but running on day three having been virtually carb free for over 60 hours was tough. I nearly blacked out in the second kilometer from complete lack of energy, but I just pushed through it and what I found interesting is that my energy started returning. Seriously. My fourth kilometre was more than a minute faster than my second. Do you suppose I switched to burning fat for energy that soon already? I have my next run tomorrow, and I’m already curious as to how that’ll feel.

Four days down, and I’m feeling really energetic. Which is weird, because I was expecting this to be a challenge, but once I got past day two… not so much. 🙂 (I’ve also dropped 2kg in four days, which I expect is mostly water weight, but who cares as the dress fits again. ;))

Now. All I have to do is to try to get through tomorrow (which I suppose won’t be difficult) as I expect I’ll bloat up like a balloon the moment I get some sugar and fast carbs into my system… And then there’s the Friday wedding. 😀

As I don’t really approve personally of very restrictive diets (and I wouldn’t be able to give up ice cream and chocolate for good), I don’t think I’ll keep this up after this week, but it’s been an interesting experiment and one that turned out to be a lot easier than I would have thought.

Now, I’m disappearing for a four day weekend. I’m packing my running gear with me though, because tomorrow the guests won’t be there yet, just family, and I’m determined to get my run in! 😉

K.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

