//
you're reading...
Food, free time & relaxation, injuries, Running, short runs, walking, X-training

The Heart’s Still In It (Even if the Knees Ain’t)

I did something unplanned today. 🙂

I ran.

I honestly had no intention. My knees are better, but still a bit sore so I had planned to wait a bit more. It’s been two weeks since my last good run and ten days since any attempt at running.

For these two weeks I’ve been consumed by jealousy every time I saw a runner on the streets. (And it being summer, you see a lot of them.)

Whenever I see someone running, I usually have three thoughts pretty much simultaneously:

Look at that technique!

Hmm… I wonder what shoes those are…

I wanna run!

And usually I’m comforted by the thought that I can go home, put on my shoes and actually go running. And the fact that hasn’t been true for a while now drove me a bit crazy.

(Even if I have been keeping busy.)

By two o’clock today I’d been convincing myself for an hour that my knees really do feel good enough. Then I taped them both and my bothersome right ankle for good measure (cabbage patch doll, who me?) and got scared of harming myself.

I sat around for another 90 minutes and then finally put on the running gear and made a deal with myself to go super careful and be happy with even 500 metres.

I managed 4km before developing a dull ache which made me call it a day just in case. But it really was just an ache, not the shooting pain of before. I’m pretty pretty certain that if I go slowly, I can start easing back into regular running.

😀

And two weeks without running? Just made me love it even more! It felt amazing to be out there again. Amazing. So natural. I even left my earphones home which is so rare for me, but I just wanted to enjoy the entire experience. 🙂

Of course I picked the windiest day in recent memory for running again (gusts up to 70km/h on the coast where I live) and got wind swept, which now has me in bed with a slight fever and a sore throat. Universe! Seriously?! Not cool. :/

But. Other than the wind and the still sensitive knees, the run was so much easier than I’d expected after the break. Probably has to do with the fact I’ve been doing gym sessions every other day during the break.

Speaking of that.

FunctionalBody.

I love that class. The first time I went was on Friday and the entire hour felt easy and fun. Until Saturday morning when I woke up to discover my entire body – from shoulders to arms to chest to abs to gluten to thighs to calves – in a world of pain. I seriously had to crawl out of bed as I couldn’t pull myself up only to discover that I couldn’t sit either as my glutes were too painful.

Omg it was horrid.

Of course I went back on Monday (Duh!) and it was again total fun and I gave my all and woke up sore again today but already noticeably less. And I can’t wait to do it again!

Oh, and since Sunday was workout free I totally morphed it into the perfect summer day. 😀

Walked to the beach (and burned a bit).

image

image

image

Read a lot.

Went swimming.

Saw a guy flyboarding (omg I wanna try that, it looked insane).

image

Walked home.

Walked to the city to have white wine sangria and edamame on a rooftop in the city centre followed by a midnight viewing of Pretty Woman (I’ve seen it so many times I could mouth along the dialogue :p) and then a walk home in the moonlight. 🙂

image

Um. Did I say it was a workout free day? I still racked up over 20km of walking. :p I’m so gonna miss being able to walk everywhere when life gets busy again…

K.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

