//
you're reading...
long runs, Marathon training, Running, walking

High on PB (and That’s Not Peanut Butter!)

Yup. That’s right. Still running.

Running through the fatigue. It’s possible, I’m telling you. ๐Ÿ˜‰ A little bit of tape and ice has vastly helped the knees as well.

I felt so energetic when I woke up today. A bit earlier than intended – my cat was hungry and decided to take a nice sharp-little-paw walk on my stomach.

(And my stomach muscles where pretty darn sore from yesterday’s gym time.)

Anyhow.

I’ve taken a bit more relaxed attitude towards my training plan. No use pushing myself too far and ending up unable to run for a while.

That said, today I felt like running. Like I really really just wanted to go. I didn’t feel like easy and steady (or the 13k prescribed by The Plan.)

I decided to just start running and see what happened.

image

I did pavement, I did trails. I did a whole kilometre solely uphill on sandy pine forest trails and a couple of steep hills.

I did the riverside.

image

And the grasslands.

image

It was the perfect warm but overcast running weather.

๐Ÿ™‚

And I felt like flying!

I started off way faster than I ever would on a 13 kilometre run. It’s been ages since I’ve felt the run immediately off the bat. It just happened right away. I felt the world fade away and I ran.

By the end of the second kilometre I knew it would be a fast one. So I just decided to try for a five kilometre tempo run…

image

Voilร ! By the end of the five I slowed down a bit for a cool down kilometre, but a minute or so into it I felt like I really wanted to keep going.

So I did.

image

The 8th kilometre was completely uphill. At one point steep enough that I nearly walked, but after that I kept on passing other runners. ๐Ÿ™‚

I called it a day at the ten kilometre mark (a little bit more than the 5km tempo run I’d promised myself :p) and realised I’d just run my personal best for 10k at 53.46!

Take that post-HM fatigue! ๐Ÿ˜‰

(My PB for 5km from last summer didn’t get broken though.)

I was so pumped on runner’s high that even though I started walking homewards (and snapping photos on the way back) after the first kilometre I did a kind of jogging walk back…

Um. For 6 kilometres. :p I recorded it Endomondo as “walking” but it was more of a light jog with frequent walk breaks when a particularly good song came on and I felt like belting it out. Loudly. (I got a couple of weird looks as I was dripping with sweat, smiling like an idiot and singing Dancing Queen off key.)

So I’m not sure if to count this as a 10k tempo run or a 16k easy run… Or. A pseudo fartlek seeing as how I did all sorts of terrain, hills, speed and slow and steady.

Oooh! And I had a fox run across the trail at one point! ๐Ÿ˜€ Beats snakes and dogs, definitely.

K.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “High on PB (and That’s Not Peanut Butter!)

  1. Congratulations!! Such an amazing feeling, I am so happy for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by runningtoherdreams | July 2, 2013, 9:15 pm
  2. Awesome! That’s pretty much my PB 10k time too! But yours is .07 seconds faster! Woop! I also know about cat the cat thing except for me it’s my King Charles cavillers paws in my stomach! Not good after circuit training yesterday! Check out my blog if you fancy it! Your blog made happy reading!

    Posted by Claire McCracken | July 3, 2013, 10:13 am
  3. GOOD WORK!!! I know all about annoying cats walking across your tummy early in the morning… and crying for food, and crying for attention, and crying because they want to play, and playing on the bed when I am trying to sleep… the list goes on and on. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by ratherberunnin | July 3, 2013, 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

