//
you're reading...
free time & relaxation, Health, injuries, long runs, Marathon training, Running, walking

Cumulative Fatigue

Or something.

I’m starting to think that just pushing on with my training plan straight after the HM last week wasn’t such a good idea.

Just because I don’t feel like my legs are tired doesn’t mean they actually aren’t.

Which is why I’m sitting in bed on a Saturday evening with ice packs wrapped around my ankles.

It all started… with the little wobble in my knees after the HM, which I completely ignored as the knees weren’t really painful.

(This might have been a mistake.)

I “recovered” from my HM with a long walk the next day followed by a til dawn party. I was back running on Tuesday,  in the gym for the first time in a year on Wednesday and running again on Thursday.

The knees felt pretty sore during Thursday’s run (I’m sure the 2 hours of weights the day before had some influence there as well) but I pushed through since it was a short run.

When I woke up today, I did not want to run. Despite enough sleep I felt exhausted.

I’m thinking it must have been a combo of pushing myself continuously physically and the fact that when I do take a rest day, I’m out drinking cocktails

image

Exhibit A

in 11cm heels.

(Told you, I’m not very practical when it comes to shoes. :p)

So all that together, all I wanted from today was to stay at home, read and eat a ton of strawberries.

I didn’t.

Because strawberries and guilt don’t make for a tasty snack.

I told myself to ignore the fatigue, the off knees and just get out there. Even if for only a few kilometres. So I did a six km lap near my house and as I passed my building I decided to keep on going.

By the 9th km, the blisters were back to poppin’ despite the liberal amounts of vaseline. At that point I was ready to call it a day.

Only. At that exact moment, one of my Endomondo buddies decided to test the pep talk feature.

Suddenly, in my ears: “Keep up the great work, K…!”

Just what the doctor ordered. 😀

I turned into the forest and kept going, pushing through the knee pain. 15km in my left ankle fell inwards (best description I can think of) and every step became painful.

And I still tried to run through it.

I guess I have this weird idea that if I want it bad enough, I can make it happen. (And make pain disappear…)

For nearly a kilometre I ran with tears in my eyes. At the 16k mark I gave in. 😩 It got too painful.

The joke here is that since I was running my long run route… I still got to hobble-walk 5km home. 😛 Oops. That brings my total distance covered today again to 21km.

It’s hours since my run, but both knees and ankles are still sore to the touch. Let’s see what tomorrow brings, more running or a little bit of a break.

K.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Cumulative Fatigue

  1. I vote for a break. I understand the drive, but just be careful. I’m preaching to myself. 🙂

    Posted by 278toBoston | June 29, 2013, 10:24 pm
  2. If you don’t allow injuries to heal, they will get worse and worse. Muscle pain is OK because if you take rest days they will get stronger after a little while. But joints, ligaments?

    Posted by Whatsit | July 1, 2013, 9:01 am
  3. Take.A.Break. A week or two off and then see how the legs feel. They won’t forget what it’s like to run, trust me 🙂

    Posted by MrsB | July 1, 2013, 8:57 pm
    • I agree, but with just two months til marathon time, it’s easier said than done. (I don’t even know when it happened that I find it easier to run than not to run… :o)

      Posted by klmv | July 1, 2013, 9:22 pm
  4. Take it easy my friend. Rest, take an ice bath maybe? Give your brain some time to recover from your half. There is nothing wrong with taking an extra rest day 🙂 You can do it! 🙂

    Posted by ratherberunnin | July 1, 2013, 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

