//
you're reading...
free time & relaxation, long runs, Marathon training, Running, running clothes and gear, walking, X-training

Hitting the Ground Running

And I’m back! ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s officially the beginning of Week Sixteen of my marathon training plan and now it’s all about getting back on track. After all the rearranging I did with the running days and distances in preparation of the half marathon I ran three days ago. (Feels kinda awesome to casually say that. ;))

I followed my HM up with two days of rest, friends, sunshine, barbecue meat and more booze than I care to admit. It was two days of Estonia’s most popular national holiday, so everybody was in a party mood.

Now, as the aftereffects of a two day bonfire party were finally dissipating today, I started thinking about what I learned from my half marathon.

A) I nailed my nutrition and hydration. Next time, I still want to try relying only on stations though, because I’m starting to think my belly can handle all sorts of things pretty well.

B) Just because you’ve been running in the same size and model of shoe (and socks!) for several pairs, doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t consider going up a size for long runs. Before my marathon, I’ll try to run in a pair of the same shoe in a bigger size. (I have so many blisters…)

C) Most importantly. Strength training. I haven’t done any. And I very much felt the lack in the final stages of the HM as my form was slipping. This makes me anxious about the full marathon I’m running in ten weeks.

Which is why I have a gym date tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m hoping if I put some money down I’ll be able to make it a two times a week thing (bye bye rest days!) and maybe, just maybe ten weeks will be enough to be of some help. I’m also realising that if I want to keep running long distances, I’ll have to keep it up.

Week Sixteen.

Coming back from the HM, I decided to make today’s run a 75% of the Plan thing.

So, 8 km it was.

It’s still hotter than normal, with thunder and rain making guest appearances. Today, I headed out straight after a bout of thunder, so I immediately got my feet wet in the puddles (which my blisters didn’t like) but other than that, it was a surprisingly easy run!

I went easy, because I expected my feet and legs to still feel off, but nothing ached or hurt. ๐Ÿ™‚ I did the 8k at an easy pace with every km a bit faster than the previous one and at the end I definitely felt like I could have kept going.

I followed my run up with a 4km walk, since it was just so darn beautiful outside.

image

And I got to snap pictures of one of my favourite paved running routes.

image

With a lovely view of the city centre and the (somewhat pungent) aroma of the sea. ๐Ÿ˜‰

image

While running, I’m so much in my own head and everything goes by so fast that I sometimes forget how lovely my stomping grounds are. Walking let’s me enjoy it.

image

I definitely feel like summer. ๐Ÿ™‚

Btw, how bad of an idea would it be to get back to distance building already this weekend? I’m thinking 24km on Saturday…

K.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Hitting the Ground Running

  1. Congratulations on the half marathon! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by runningtoherdreams | June 25, 2013, 7:41 pm
  2. Running shoes – definitely go big. My regular shoes are usually 39 but my runners are 41. No blisters.

    Posted by MrsB | June 25, 2013, 7:48 pm
  3. Dude, seriously? I thought where I lived was beautiful. I live in a hole compared to you… WOW! GORGEOUS!

    Posted by ratherberunnin | June 26, 2013, 10:48 pm
  4. P.S. I have nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award! If you chose to accept this award, (I hope you do, but if you donโ€™t thatโ€™s okay too!) visit my page http://followyourheartandlifewillfollow.wordpress.com/ for details. Happy blogging! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by runningtoherdreams | June 29, 2013, 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

