//
you're reading...
Food, recipes

Every Weekend, She Bakes

A new habit. Quite detrimental to my diet as well. But as I have so much free time lately (65 days of holiday!) that also means more time to play around with new recipes. 😉

Ever since going gluten free, one of my Holy Grail baking inspiration blogs has been The Gluten Free Goddess. There’s some insane delicious (and waistline killer) stuff over there.

Today, as it happened, I had a bag of spice covered mozarella in the fridge and I wanted to do something besides tomato – mozarella or salad with it.

Mmmm… Savoury muffins. (Better keep up the weekend baking tradition!)

I mosied over to the blog and went a hunting. I found this spicy corn muffin recipe and decided to play around with this a bit. 🙂 Quite close to the original, but… cheesier. 😉

I don’t really like following recipes to the letter (lessens the playful feel of baking) so this was great fun! 😀

image

Spicy Mozarella Muffins:

1 cup of wholemeal oat flour
3/4 cup of cornmeal
1/2 cup of potato starch
1.5 ts of baking powder
1 ts of baking soda
1 ts of guar gum
1 ts of salt
1 ts of chilli powder
1 ts of powdered paprika
1/3 cup of demerara sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup of olive oil
1/2 cup of water
1/2 of a small courgette
100g of mozarella (I used spice covered)

Preheat the oven to 180°C and get your muffin pan ready. Mix together the flours, baking soda and powder, salt, guar gum and spices.

Peel and cut the courgette to small pieces, and boil til mushy in the water. Puree.

Whisk the eggs with the sugar.

Add the egg mix, olive oil and courgette puree to the flours and mix with a wooden spoon.

Cube the mozarella, so you get 24 tip of thumb pieces.

Place one spoonful of the batter in the muffin tins, add a piece of mozarella. Add a second spoonful. Place a piece of mozarella on top. Sprinkle with a bit of paprika.

Bake at 180°C for 20 minutes.

And voilà! 😀 We let them cool for about twenty minutes before attacking the muffins. The taste and texture were lovely. And went very well with dry natural apple cider. 😉

I think the next time I want to try the same batter with sundried tomatoes.

Oh, my poor waist.

K.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Every Weekend, She Bakes

  1. Gawd, they look amazing, and still gooey, mm! I never thought I would like savoury bakes until I had some cheese scones… Cheese + baking = heaven in my opinion!

    Posted by Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout | June 17, 2013, 11:20 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Leek Feta Muffins with Green Chillies | Eat with Namie - June 18, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

