//
you're reading...
injuries, long runs, Marathon training, Running

Fumble, Stumble and Fall

Or tumble down a hill, as the case may be.

It’s taper week. And I’m finding it tough. It’s weird. But my half marathon is next Saturday and I’m determined to do everything I can to have a great experience. ๐Ÿ™‚

For my taper, I’m trying to decrease the

frequency,
intensity
and mileage

of my runs.

If I usually run four days a week, then this week it’s three, and next week only one run before race day.

(Of course, I replaced the 6k Thursday run I skipped with two hours of biking… So it wasn’t actually a rest day.)

I lowered my long run distance today to only 16km as well, which was tough. Because I definitely felt like I wanted to keep on running.

Today was strange.

I woke up convinced that something was going to happen. The last time I was a week away from a half marathon and in good running shape and uninjured I ran a 14k trail race for a practice run and twisted my ankle badly enough to have to skip the HM.

So, I almost expected something similar to happen today. I was actually kinda afraid to go out there and run. It’s just that I really wanted to.

Now. Perhaps you can call what happened the power of suggestion, or perhaps I really do suffer from a HM curse….

I kitted myself up in the exact same gear I plan to use next Saturday and hit the trails.

image

Four kilometres in, I was coming down a tiny little gravelly hill. The next thing I knew I was flying through the air. I tried to relax and hit the ground softly, but still pushed my hands in front to protect my face, so they took the main impact.

I then rolled down the hill. On gravel. :/

Not a recommended pastime.

I lied for a second, evaluating if anything was broken, pretty certain that was it for this HM as well. To my surprise, my legs and feet felt fine. ๐Ÿ™‚ There were bloody gashes on the side of my left leg and knee where the gravel had torn off the skin and a bloody piece of skin the size of my thumbnail hanging from the palm of my left hand with a small rock lodged in the flesh beneath….

But that was it for the visible injuries.

I took one of my water bottles and washed the dirt out. (See, carrying clean water on your runs is good for other things besides hydration as well. ;))

I did this while already jogging forward. The moment I realised my legs could still carry me, I made the decision to continue my run.

During the cleaning the wounds process, I discovered a more troublesome thing – my supposedly uninjured right wrist was aching fiercely and for some reason I couldn’t move my thumb at all and it was really painful to move the fingers as well.

I had a moment of oh-f-i-broke-it panic, but figured it would have hurt even more then and a sprain or just nerve pain from the impact was more likely. I fixed it in place with the Buff off my head (see, useful things) and carried on.

At some point adrenaline and endorphins really kicked in, because that’s the only way I can explain what a good run this turned out to be afterwards. I mean, my wrist was swelling, there was blood running down one of my legs and dripping from my fingertips from the palm wound and all I could think was…

This is so much fun!

I probably looked like a maniac with my goofy grin and bloody appearance to the people who saw me.

(Amongst these were three wedding parties taking pictures in the lovely wooded areas. It’s the season.)

image

A good pace for a long run with a fall ๐Ÿ™‚

Back home I wrapped my wrist with an Ace bandage and hours later it still hurts a lot, but my thumb is mobile again, so yay for that. ๐Ÿ˜€

As I undressed and my muscles cooled, I discovered I was a wee bit more banged up than I’d thought – left hip and upper thigh are one gigantic bruise and the same for my left upper arm. These look like the kind of things which are gonna hurt a whole lot more tomorrow.

To add insult to injury, I chipped the corner of my phone screen even in the armband. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ At least it still works.

Now.

You might think I’ve just done a whole lot of complaining.

I’m elated! ๐Ÿ˜€ I passed my week before race cursed run with the ability to still run. All this stuff might hurt like a bitch, but none of it is going to stop me from racing my first HM next Saturday.

All I need to get through now are two more runs. 6k tomorrow and 8k on Tuesday. Cross your fingers that the curse has been broken! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Any awesome week til HM tips I should know?

K.

Discussion

One thought on “Fumble, Stumble and Fall

  1. Gravel tears you up but I think it’s actually softer than hitting asphalt ๐Ÿ™‚

    Take it easy this week and you’ll be fine for your half marathon.

    PS. I have run with bloody knees as well, used water to clean wounds as well and still have a sore wrist from a fall couple of months ago ๐Ÿ˜ What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.

    Posted by MrsB | June 15, 2013, 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

