//
you're reading...
Marathon training, Running, running clothes and gear, short runs

Week Thirteen Recap and a Question

AKA: Even my blisters have blisters.

AKA: Halfway there!

(That’s right, this week was the halfway point of my six month marathon training plan. And despite a couple of setbacks on the way, I’m right on track!)

It’s also the week of my longest run yet – 22.56km. And isn’t that an awesome feeling? 🙂

Here’s Week Thirteen in Numbers:

image

And since I’ve been worried about possible injuries (my heels :() and apparent lack of progress this week, I decided to log in to Endomondo’s web page for the first time in ages and have a look at my stats.

Among other things I discovered (from the little cup markings next to the days) that I ran a recorded training run PB 10 km on Tuesday. And that I ran my recorded longest distance just yesterday.

Heh. So much about a not so good week. 😉

I poked around in my stats some more and discovered that with my cool down walks, I do a fair bit of walking every week as well.

Actually, if we add walking to the overall mileage, last week doesn’t seem like much of a cutback:

image

(I also started riding my bike to work on non running days, which I hope to keep up. Never mind that I only have a week of work left before holiday.)

Now, if we leave just running, the cutback weeks, and the steady increase in mileage are all noticeable:

image

Now. The decisions I have to make.

I run my half marathon in 12 days! Yikes.

According to The Plan, next week is mileage building week (Saturday long run of 24km). This would leave me still working hard less than a week from race time. While my MT believes I have most symptoms of overtraining already.

Is that ok?

Question time! When do I start to taper? I never have, so I’ve no idea!

Decision 2: Which shoes?! Both are comfortable, but very different with their plusses and minuses.

The Inspires are more familiar and in general I like them more, but their toe box isn’t quite wide enough for 2+ hour runs (hence the horrid pinky size blisters on both my big toes) and they lack the forefeet cushioning I need on pavement.

But. They’re lighter, have a lower heel and more flexible forefoot, which suits my running style better and I can feel the ground in them. I adore them for shorter distances and trail running. As long as I keep mostly off pavement they don’t create any issues on long distances as well. (I ran yesterday’s 22km in Inspires and on trails.)

The Nirvanas are more supportive and cushioned. I can actually pound the pavement in them (even if I know I shouldn’t.) They protect my forefeet better. But they’re also heavier, chunkier and the sole is stiffer. It’s not as natural to forefoot or midfoot strike in them and I believe they’re contributing to heel striking (hence the recent heel pain). I ran in Nirvanas today and did my entire run on pavement, which I never would in Inspires.

The half marathon is almost 50-50, with the first half on forest trails and the second on city streets. I just don’t know.

So. Decisions, decisions…

K.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Week Thirteen Recap and a Question

  1. As for the shoes, definitely go with the more comfortable ones. The second ones may not work. Two hours is a long time to suffer in the wrong shoes. You should probably do the long run in the shoes you want to wear but scale it back and rest a lot the rest of the week. Feeling good on the day of the race is important. Just my opinion though.

    Posted by adriadc | June 9, 2013, 8:35 pm
    • Thanks for the advice! I’m still not sure which would be more comfortable on equal parts trail, pavement though. I prefer one for trails and one for pavement. Inspires are more comfortable but cause blisters…

      Posted by klmv | June 9, 2013, 8:51 pm
      • Maybe see if you can run while wearing blister block bandages. They are gel like but may be annoying.

        Posted by adriadc | June 9, 2013, 9:03 pm
      • You mean like Compeed? I find that they take the painaway initially but eventually make the blister worse. 😦

        Posted by klmv | June 10, 2013, 8:51 am
      • Yikes. If that does not work then nothing may. Liquid bandages are not sturdy enough to do long distances in, neither are regular ones. No good choice there.

        Posted by adriadc | June 10, 2013, 1:20 pm
  2. Do you wear double-layer socks? Some people find that putting loads of Vaseline on their toes is enough to stop blisters from forming.

    Posted by Whatsit | June 10, 2013, 8:46 am
    • I wear the Asics Gel Kayano socks and have for a couple of years. No issues before. I think it’s the heatwave doing a number on my feet. :/

      And the distances.

      Double socks, you say? Would have to be a lot thinner socks then. 🙂 Currently my problem is that the blisters keep multiplying as they don’t have time to heal and then I get a new one on top. -.-

      Posted by klmv | June 10, 2013, 8:50 am
      • Some running socks have two layers of material in the forefoot. Nike for example has those. I’m sure most sportwear brands have a model or two. What they do is reduce friction on your skin. The idea is that the outer layer rubs on the shoe and moves around but the inner layer protects your foot from the worst of it. They are no miracle cure but combined with good lubrication (e.g. petroleum jelly) on longer runs, they may help prevent blisters to a better extent than single-layer socks. I know that some runners put on women’s nylon shoe liners before proper sports socks. I’ve not tried that but it’s another thing that may help because the aim is to reduce friction on the skin.

        Posted by Whatsit | June 12, 2013, 9:56 am
  3. Congrats on getting close to your half marathon. I’m not sure about the shoes. I think that since you have to deal with trails, the more supportive ones would be better. As to tapering, it is all about feeling good on race day. I tapered a little two weeks before my half and more the week before and took the day before off. You want to be fresh for your run and not dealing with soreness or being tired. Good luck!

    Posted by 278toBoston | June 11, 2013, 1:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

