//
you're reading...
diet, free time & relaxation, long runs, Marathon training, Running, walking

Tough Runs are for Tough Girls

Because if you ain’t tough, you’d just skip a run on a day where:

It’s 30 degrees and sunny,

Your legs feel like made of concrete after walking around 20km the day before (the last five of which were in a bleeding hail storm and soaking wet),

Your belly feels like a balloon full of led from all the overindulgence on various unhealthy foods from the day before.

Honestly.

All I wanted from this Saturday was to stay in bed all day long and drink ice water with the window open.

Instead.

I put on my gear and went out the door.

Because that’s what runners do.

And proceeded to have a horrid run. I wish it were one of those days where you don’t feel like running, but it still ends up a good run, because you do get a feel for it while already running.

This wasn’t one of those days.

Every kilometre felt like hard, sweaty work.

Every single one.

I must confess to even walking twice during this run up two particularly steep hills.

And when Endomondo beeped with my goal of 14km reached… I nearly cried with relief.

image

So it was one of those days.

Every runner has them. It’s how you deal with them that matters. 🙂 And this is why I don’t regret not one single leaden kilometre.

Now.

I really do need to bathe in aloe vera, if I don’t want to look like Dejah Thoris tomorrow. (Bonus points if you get the reference! ;)) Me and sun really don’t get along.

I really want to talk a little about yesterday as well, but I’ll have to make this short and sweet as I have a Saturday wine date with friends that I’m already late for. 😉

Friday.

I had my final outing of the year with my students. We’d decided on a picnic and barbecue and hike on an island 9km off the coast of Tallinn. Terra Feminarium. Yes, really, that’s the name of the island.

Since the harbour where we were meeting was only 5km from my home, I decided to start my day with a nice walk there at seven am.

image

Just a few hundred metres from home.

And then we got to the island it was awesome. Sunny and gorgeous.

image

We walked and we talked and we ate.

And we ate.

And then we ate some more.

And then we barbecued.

(MyFitnessPal informs me that if I ate every day like I did yesterday, I’d gain 8kg in five weeks. :o)

Oh. And then we hiked. A lot. On the beach and…

I’m gonna miss those silly kids for the next three months.

And then when we got back to Tallinn, I decided to walk home. (You know, to help even a little with everything I’d eaten.)

And barely 5 minutes into my walk, all heavenly hell broke loose. It turned dark, the skies opened up with thunder and a ten minute hail storm appeared. The grains turned the ground all white around me, and I got beaten pretty badly in my jeans and tank. And soaked to the bone.

Let me tell you, I made that walk home fast. 😉

Saturday.

I feel like today’s gonna be a dry white kinda day. 😉

What are your Saturday plans?

K.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

