//
you're reading...
deserts, diet, Food, recipes, snacks

Healthy Chocolate Bars

I have a feeling this is going to be the week of indulgence.

And yesterday was a perfect prelude.

I was minding my own business around eight in the evening, when suddenly I heard this insistent voice in my head:

Must. Have. Chocolate. Now.

I’ve been so good about having random sweets all week long that this sudden want came as something of an unpleasant surprise.

(I soon tracked down the craving to the choco chips in my morning pancake. Just goes to show I can’t even have a little without creating a big ol’ ChocoMonster.)

So. At eight on a Sunday evening I was was faced with the option of:

A) Run down to the store and get a sugary bar of chocolate,

B) Make something chocolatey myself,

Or

C) Resist all temptation.

Middle ground it was!

I had already picked up the almonds and raisins for this week’s batch of faux-larabars earlier at the store. And I always have some traditional sugar free cocoa powder sitting in my kitchen cupboard…

This was a no brainer. I just needed to tweak the almond-raisin-oatmeal base recipe a bit.

(And I do that all the time as it is… Never made the exact same bars twice. ;))

So.

I present:

image

Chocolate Oat Bars

Chocolate Oat Bars:

130g of almonds
240g of raisins
50g of oatmeal
30g of unsweetened cocoa powder
Just a tiny bit of salt

You know the drill – blend, blend, blend! Makes 12 bars that you can wrap individually and store in the fridge.

These are so chocolatey and delicious it’s kinda hard to believe that they only include good for you ingredients. In fact, since cocoa powder actually has more protein than oatmeal… they’re even better for you than the base recipe! 😮

Tempted to try yet?

As you can see, I couldn’t wait to taste test the first one even until I’d taken pictures. 😉 Suffice to say, evening chocolate craving satisfied without much of a guilty conscience. 😀

K.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

