//
you're reading...
long runs, Marathon training, Running, walking

Running Is….

…an adventure.

๐Ÿ™‚

At least that’s how I’d finish this sentence today.

(How would you?)

I find myself more and more interested in trail running with every passing week. Might have something to do with the fact that my first adult contact with running was orienteering and that my feet really dislike pavement.

So.

I had 19k planned for today. And it seemed the most natural thing in the world to approach this with:

Pick a direction and go! (Oh, and avoid pavement if at all possible.)

I started my day at midday (after having slept for 15 hours straight :o) with a “breakfast” of chocolate chip oatmeal pancake. This late start meant that I was running ready around three in the afternoon. Just in time for perfect weather. Cool but sunny.

I geared up with my bottle belt filled with isotonic electrolyte drink and an apple flavoured gel.

image

Bottles empty after run.

Off!

The first four kilometres I ran my regular route and the I went into the bush. These awesome narrow trails often almost invisible in the underbrush.

And let the adventure begin!

Today, I:

Got lost more times than I can count,

Backtracked a few times (my favourite was when I went downhill for about 200 metres only to be confronted by a river on one side and by a rusted shut gate leading to a tiny abandoned cemetery on the other, and then I had to come right back up.)

Ran through four picnics,

Two nudist couples sunbathing,

Jumped two streams,

Waded through a shallow brooke,

Got dropped by GPS thrice (the third time on the 13km, it didn’t pick me up again, so from there on I ran without Endomondo)

Found my way out the forest via a random back gate to a school stadium where kids were playing football (got directions from them),

Ran through a large cemetery,

A garden with more than a dozen bee hives in it (!)

Discovered a place where I have to go blueberry picking in summer (if I can find it again)

And then when I finally got back to familiar trails (the ones I ran for my last long run) I ran 5km on cross-country ski trails with kilometre posts.

I finally stopped near the sea and checked the time.

I’d been running for two and a half hours without every stopping, pausing. I’d consumed all my hydration and nutrition, but other than that I felt that I could have kept going.

๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Oh, wow.

I have no real distances for this run. But. Considering that I ran 13km recorded with GPS (and probably more as I’d been dropped twice in that time for the duration on 1.5 songs :p) and then I ran cluelessly for over half an hour before hitting the ski trails where the markers told me I ran at least five km.

I’m estimating a minimum of 21km for this run. Probably more. Most likely more.

Too bad that Endomondo messed with me again. :/

But.

It was amazing. Fun. An adventure.

I know, I know, different strokes for different folks, but this works for me. Making the long run a game of trails and getting lost and of discovery just works for me.

I walked the final three kilometres home from the seaside. To cool down. Because nothing works so well for keeping me injury free as walking after a long run.

Nothing.

I snapped a couple of photos while walking to record the prettiness of this spring day:

image

Disclaimer: this is not where I run. This is parkland, not wilderness, and I consider these gravel trails already to hard for my feet.

But it makes for a pretty walk home.

image

Together with the run and the walk I logged just over three hours of exercise today. I’d say I’ve more than earned the Tahini-wasabi chicken stir-fry I made for dinner. ๐Ÿ˜‰

And best of all. My feet (and both of my forefeet) are feeling totally fine. Pain free. Soreness free.

Now, I’m just gonna enjoy bundling up with hot tea, a purring cat and catching up on some Bates Motel on my tablet. And fantasing about Kathy Bates doing a crossover with the show playing Misery again. ๐Ÿ˜‰

(I’m most likely too young to be this boring on a Saturday night, but… :D)

K.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Running Is….

  1. I love running on trails, aside from no pavement there is always something new and beautiful to discover. Beautiful photos, and what a treat to happen upon a blueberry patch! Hopefully you’ll be able to find it again ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by runningtoherdreams | May 25, 2013, 11:16 pm
  2. Sounds awesome!! I wish I such cool places to get lost running where I live…..super jealous! Great post too, I like your style ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by CourtLeanne @princessandthejog | May 26, 2013, 2:35 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

