//
you're reading...
free time & relaxation, Health, injuries, Marathon training, Running, short runs

Stretch It

I’ve been going for weekly massages for a while now. And about a month ago I switched from sports massage to Thai massage. Also know as “lazy people yoga”, or so my masseuse informs me. 😉

Not that I’m all that lazy. But still. I find Thai to be perfect for me. It stretches every possible part of my body and gets my blood moving.

When I had my first Thai massage in nearly two years last month… I felt like I’d gone through a meat grinder afterwards. I was so stiff and sore and every stretch she pulled me through hurt and seemed like even my skin hurt wherever touched. 😮

Every week I went back for the torture though I noticed I was hurting less and less even while she was pulling me into deeper stretches.

And yesterday, it was completely pain free. 🙂 Basically I was like putty in her hands – pliable, stretchable, just do whatever you want to me.

It feels fantastic!

I also believe it helps so much with my running. A Thai massage is almost like a workout. It gets my endorphins up and about, relaxes me immensely and makes me thirsty like nobody’s business as toxins move out of my body.

I’ve been running with right foot forefoot pain since. Well. Since I first started running. Sometimes it’s better, sometimes worse, but it’s always there. Even if not actually painful, my right foot feels different from my left after even the easiest, slowest, shortest run. It feels rawer somehow.

I’m always taped. I’m always insoled with my orthopedics.

But.

Right after my run with mum a few weeks ago I made the decision to remove my orthopaedic insoles. Running with her was the first time in ages I was running without music and I heard the sound of my feet on the pavement.

Slap.

Slap.

Slap.

You know, the kind of pounding you don’t want to hear your feet make.

I figured it out I think.

When I started wearing my orthopaedics, I was a heel striker and I needed them to be painfree.

Since then, I’ve long switched to midfoot and forefoot and the insoles are just too stiff to cope.

I took them out.

The first run was scary and exhilarating. While I’m still running in stability shoes, the difference was very noticeable. I could suddenly feel the ground. Every pebble, every ridge under my forefeet.

At first, it seemed like my right foot was getting worse, more sore, more painful to the touch.

But the ground felt so magnificent that I didn’t want to give up the connection.

I just upped my game with every day stretching, barefoot tiptoeing around my apartment and, of course, my massages.

I’m pretty certain that it was a combo of all of these that after today’s run –

image

– I noticed something strange.

I was walking around the apartment, sipping on a glass of water when I realised that something was off. I wasn’t favouring my right foot. In fact, I didn’t notice it at all. Both of my feet just felt the same. Good. Painfree. Like instead of a run I’d come in from a walk. 🙂

And maybe this is a fluke.

Maybe it’s not.

But right now I’m just going to thank the stretch. The massage. The laziest “crosstraining” option you’ll ever find. 😉

Massages? Yay or nay? And what kinds do you prefer?

I’ll leave you today’s fog. Dense fog seems to be the norm this spring. It makes for some magical running sometimes. 🙂

image

K.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Stretch It

  1. I’m not a fan of insoles. I’m not surprise you’re feeling better without them 🙂

    As for massages – I didn’t actually get a Thai massage today, got just a regular Swedish one due to a mix up with their staffing. It was still good though! I usually go for either a sports massage or just regular go-to-sleep one when I’m in a spa or on holiday.

    Posted by MrsB @ Mind over Matter | May 24, 2013, 6:12 pm
    • Thai is *very* different from those. It’s much more active, but still very relaxing. If you can find a good massage therapist I totally still recommend checking it out. Cotton tights and tshirt are the best things to wear for it. 🙂

      Posted by klmv | May 25, 2013, 5:46 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Just another week in a life of a runner | Mind over Matter - May 27, 2013

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other subscribers
Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Marc Hemingway

Trying to keep track of my life (and my life on track)

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This was my journey. Now I'm a recovering alcoholic, this is my new journey. I'm still running a marathon, just a different type.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

justrunfaster

Whether you run for fun, run to lose weight, run so you can enjoy those beers, run because you can't swim or run for time. The best way to accomplish this is to just run faster.