//
you're reading...
Food, Marathon training, meals, recipes, Running, short runs, walking

Slow and Steady Girl

The more I run and the longer I’ve been running… I become more and more convinced that I’m made for distance.
I’m not a sprinter. I’m not a natural runner. I work hard. And sometimes it seems like progress is almost nonexistent.

But. I love to run. Who knows why, but I do. ๐Ÿ™‚

I had a long day today on little sleep. The weather is a bit messed up lately with the random rain and random heat sometimes only minutes apart. I had a 10km run planned.

And not for a moment did the thought enter my head โ€“ maybe I could skip and rest a bit. Instead the only running conundrum I had all day was what to wear with this bizarre weather. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I honestly think this was because of two things:

A) My love for running, and
B) Because I was running 10 kilometres not less.

I’m finally starting to understand those people among my friends who say that they don’t find the effort of changing clothes and lacing up worth anything up to and including 5km…

I wouldn’t go that far, but I’m definitely starting to enjoy longer runs more than shorter ones. It takes me time to get a feel for the run. Often it takes me around 3km or even more. And those first three kilometres I like to go slow.

When I’m running only 5km, it feels… weird to conserve my strength and go slow. And so I start off strong and finish… not so much.

Don’t get me wrong, some 5k runs are fun, but overall, I prefer longer.

Like the ten kilometres today.

image

I just wanted to have a nice evening run and started off slow. Never pushing. Just running for fun. And every passing kilometre I was picking up speed.

image

This run didn’t feel like an effort even for a moment. And this is such a typical run for me. If I start off slow and run comfortably, I almost always run faster and faster the longer I run (until I hit a wall around 90 minutes, have to find a strategy for that…)

And when I finish, I feel like I could go for hours. I know not really, but it’s the emotion at the end that counts, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ˜‰

So. Yes.

I’m the slow and steady and distance girl. I think. ๐Ÿ˜€ Something between 10-15 km might just be my ideal run at the moment.

After my run, I walked home for about ten minutes to give my legs and feet a nice cool down.

image

Walking

And then I made dinner!

I have this insane craving for rice lately. I’ve been eating it in sushi, in risotto, steamed, boiled etc. Today I just decided to throw together some things from my fridge for some random vegan chilli rice.

And it turned out so good that I just have to share the recipe!

Vegan Chilli Rice (serves four)

120g brown rice (uncooked)
1 small eggplant
400g can of black beans
1 tomato
200g of tomato paste
1 small onion
2 cloves of garlic
1 ts of chilli flakes
2 tbs of nutritional yeast
Some paprika, salt, olive oil

Cook the brown rice for 30 minutes (or however long it says on the package). In the meantime, chop up the onion and garlic. Sautรฉe the onion and garlic in some olive oil with the chilli and paprika.

Chop up the eggplant to small cubes. Add to the pan and cook until tender. Add a chopped tomato. Slow cook under lid for 6-7 minutes. Add salt to taste. Add the black beans, tomato paste and cooked rice. Allow to cook for a minute. Then take off the stove and stir in the nutritional yeast.

Voila! ๐Ÿ™‚ Insanely satisfying.

***

What’s for dinner tonight?

And what’s your ideal distance? ๐Ÿ™‚

K.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Slow and Steady Girl

  1. I’m totally the same – I don’t get out of bed for less than 10km ๐Ÿ™‚ My ideal distance is anything from 10-25, but I did enjoy the 30+km runs leading up to the marathon. It used to take me 5km to warm up and feel like I’m flying, now it takes me less but still a couple of km.
    Dinner was just pan fried salmon, mashed potatoes and broccoli, and then some apricot/oat bars you inspired to make ๐Ÿ˜› AND then I had some gluten free toast with butter! – definitely didn’t need to eat those ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by MrsB | May 21, 2013, 8:05 pm
    • Oh those 25+ runs sound so tempting. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I know I’m not there yet with my training and shouldn’t overdo. But I honestly cannot wait! A few more weeks until my weekend runs reach those distances. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by klmv | May 22, 2013, 4:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

