//
you're reading...
diet, Food, races, Running

How to Prepare for a Race. Not.

It’s hot.

It’s summer hot. It’s pre-thunderstorm hot.

And I have my first race of 2013 tomorrow. In 13 hours actually.

The race materials for me and my mother and sister are already sitting on my kitchen table.

image

And even though this is not my favourite race – it’s very crowded with over 12,000 participants, and the clock officially starts when the gun goes off at one o’clock for everybody no matter your position in the starting corridor or when you actually cross the start line – but it’s still important to me for two reasons.

It’s a family event and tradition for us.
It’s next door to my house and partially run its route almost every time I go out running.

Still.

It seems like I’ve been sabotaging myself all week.

Not on purpose, per say, but as part of my preparation for my half marathon and marathon which just are more important for me.

So they say you should taper, right?

Let’s have a look at my week.

On Tuesday, I ran my longest run of 2013.

On Thursday, I ran my fastest in several weeks.

image

Remember how I shouldn’t worry about speed? It’s definitely coming back. For an insanely hot day 5.34 is already a good pace for me. 🙂

So. Am I rested? No, I’m not.

Am I excited?

You betcha!

It helps that it’s not a race where it’s even possible (due to the starting time thing) to strive for a PB, so the pressure’s off.

Do I still hope for a better result than last year?

Absolutely.

🙂

Is it realistic?

Probably not.

And you know how you shouldn’t overeat or experiment with food the day before the race?

Um. It was homemade sushi night with friends. I might have eaten more salmon sushi by myself than any four normal people would eat for dinner. :/

But it was just so good.

This is why I’m still awake instead of resting for the race – too full to sleep. Classic carbo-loading do NOT do.

Well. At least I’ve drunk a lot water.

And came home at eleven instead of going bar hopping with the others. And I didn’t drink a drop of alcohol.

🙂

Don’t wish me luck, but do cross your fingers for the absence of tomorrow’s promised thunderstrom. 😮

K.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “How to Prepare for a Race. Not.

  1. Fingers crossed!

    Posted by Letters To Chace | May 17, 2013, 10:01 pm
  2. Fingers crossed! 🙂

    Posted by runningtoherdreams | May 17, 2013, 11:33 pm
  3. You’ll be fine! It’s just 7km – no biggie for you 🙂

    How come it has no chip timing??

    Posted by MrsB | May 18, 2013, 7:04 am
    • 🙂

      It has one. But for the finish only. So you beep in for the finish, but the start time is the same for everybody. Getting early to the starting corridor is extra important.

      Posted by klmv | May 18, 2013, 7:18 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

