//
you're reading...
Health, long runs, Marathon training, Running, snacks

That After Work Ten Miler

Let me start with this again.

Oh yes I did.

๐Ÿ™‚

Remember my previous contemplation about what to do with this week’s long run if I can’t run it on Saturday?

Obviously, I decided on the switching game.

It was one of those snap decisions in the end.

All day at work I thought – “Will I? Won’t I?”

I mean, it was a given that I’d run today, but the question was would I do my longest run of 2013 so far on a random Tuesday evening after work and on very little sleep.

Just in case, I hydrated well all day. I had a Larabar two hours before getting home. And a cappuccino and another Larabar an hour before home.

And on the short walk home from the bus stop I still managed to change my mind twice.

Only then I remembered.

image

Just saw this on this awesome blog today.

Yes.

Yes.

YES.

And I got home and did some things I’ve never done before. Ever.

A) I got out an electrolyte powder and made me some hydration liquid.
B) I dug out a “tropic” flavoured SIS gel.
C) I took my brand spankin’ new running belt and removed two of the four bottles, filled one of the remaining with water, one with the sports drink and shoved the gel in one of the pockets.
D) Sipped half a glass of sports drink right before running.

Resuming normal activity I retaped my right foot (I don’t think I’ve ran completely metatarsal pain free in a year :()ย  tied up my Inspires and fitted the belt.

Out the door! ๐Ÿ˜€

Ok. So belt was…

kinda horrid for the first three kilometres or so. It jumped around and so did the bottles.

But then as I settled into my rhythm so did the belt and quite honestly after that I didn’t really notice it any longer.
I think I can call the belt a success. ๐Ÿ™‚

Today’s goals were:

A) Run my first ten miler in…about eight months ๐Ÿ˜ฎ (Has it really been that long?)
B) Not think about speed at all.
C) Test my running belt.
D) Try hydrating on the run for the first time.
E) Try nutrition on the run.

A lot of goals for late workday evening.

Guess what?

image

Check (with 17km, so a little extra even), check, check, check. Check.

๐Ÿ™‚

And omg electrolyte drinks might be my new favourite thing in the world!

Why haven’t I tried them while running before?

I honestly didn’t think hydrating would make such a difference to how I feel.

I started sipping the electrolyte drink at the fifth kilometre and then about every ten minutes until I ran out (my bottle was 170ml) around the one hour mark.

Then I ate the gel.

Ok. So it just might be one most sickly sweet things ever. Quite disgusting, really.

And for a couple of minutes it was touch and go whether it would stay down or come right back up.

Then I drank some water and it helped loads (even if the package said you didn’t need to drink anything with the gel.)

No other issues. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll try out other flavours to see if there’s something not as nauseatingly sweet…but I can use this brand. Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚

From there on I drank water. (I think next time, I’ll want one more bottle of the sports drink, but still carry water. It’s nice to have options.)

Yup.

I’m sold.

Everybody talking about the importance of hydration. Definitely on to something. I’m a bottle carrier from now on.

Better late than never, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

I did my run on forest trails again.

Most of it anyway.

I still had to run the 2k there and back on pavement.

I think I’m soon reaching the point where I’m willing to take the bus to the trails just to completely avoid pavement.

Seriously.

Give me tons of hills (like today) stumps and tree roots to jump over (like today) and the smell of trees, and the springy pine needle covered trail underfoot is just so much more fun and so much better on my problem feet than the merciless pounding on the pavement.

image

I just really had fun today.

I also had two turns in the ice bucket and a blister the size of a pinkie on the outside of my big toe (my flatmate says that I have to pop that sucker, but I’m too squeamish).

My knees started telling me, “So you’re really using us today,” around the ninety minute mark but didn’t really get painful, so that’s also good.

Overall, I’m feeling pretty darn awesome.

image

Have some parkland on the way back. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Not the forest trails where I run. (Wouldn’t want to stop for pictures while running!)

Just where I walk. Because as per normal, I walk two kilometres home after done with my run. Still my favourite cool down.

What’s yours? And any awesome electrolyte powders I should look into? ๐Ÿ™‚

K.

Discussion

18 thoughts on “That After Work Ten Miler

  1. Ahhhh! I love, love, love this! I am SO glad you had a fantastic run ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    Posted by olivetorun | May 14, 2013, 7:13 pm
  2. Omg you have no idea how this post has made me want to run RIGHT NOW! It’s too bad it’s late and pissing down rain! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I use nuun electrolyte tablets in my water bottles, haven’t tried anything else.

    Posted by MrsB | May 14, 2013, 7:18 pm
  3. Great job! I want to run where you run!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ It looks beautiful!

    Posted by ratherberunnin | May 14, 2013, 7:57 pm
  4. Long runs after work? I’m inspired. I cycled the 13.5 mile journey home this evening. I’ve promised myself I will run it at least once this year…

    Posted by rundontrun | May 14, 2013, 8:04 pm
  5. Sounds awesome, I’m just starting to play with some gels/powders and generally just run with water and also do it early morning so empty stomach also. That caption of never regretting a run is my motto, when I’m tempted to stay in bed I tell myself that I’ll never regret pulling on my shoes and heading out.

    Posted by mutteringsofafool | May 14, 2013, 8:39 pm
  6. You rock! I am itching to head out, but only after it cools down a bit ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Posted by runningtoherdreams | May 14, 2013, 11:30 pm
  7. Congrats, that distance is fab and the park looks beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚ Silly question but what do you put in your running belt? Is it just for gels?

    Posted by Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout | May 17, 2013, 2:47 pm
    • Thank you! And not a silly question at all, there are so many different kinds of belts. Some are just for gels and some are just water bottle holders and some are glorified lightweight fanny packs.

      I guess the one I use is a combo of all. It has five things (all removable) attached to the belt. One of them is a small pocket where I can put gels or keys or something like that. And four are tiny mesh bottle pockets that hold 170ml bottles (less than a cup). Kinda looks like a grenade belt. Or so I’ve been told. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Posted by klmv | May 17, 2013, 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

