//
you're reading...
Health, Marathon training, races, Running, short runs

Week Nine Recap and Race Goals

Don’t worry about speed.

Easier said than done.

It’s under a week to the first race. Seven kilometres and one of the biggest (if not the biggest) women’s races in the area.

A few years ago the May Race celebrated its twentieth anniversary and they also gave gifts and recognition to the women who had participated in the race since its inception.

My mother was one of the women who set off from the starting line with the 300 women who took part of the first race.

She was also one of the nearly ten thousand women who ran it the last year.

So was I. ๐Ÿ™‚

She had never not run it, for me, it was the first time to run it since childhood.

image

May Race 2012

It was also my first official race after I started running. (Took me forever to decide to even do any races.)

I finished it at 40 minutes exactly. And promised to improve my time the next year. The goal I set for myself was under 38. Then, as my speed continued to improve over the summer and autumn, I hesitantly thought that even under 36 might be realistic.

Do not worry about speed.

This is what I keep telling myself. My goal is to run a marathon this season. I need to build distance and keep running injury free. Slow and steady.

Yet there’s this little nagging voice in my head that’s more than a little sad that it’s unlikely I’ll be improving my time this year. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

So. I pushed a bit today.

I did the first kilometre at my “comfortable” pace as of late. But after that first report of 6.37, I made myself run. Not all out, but faster than a conversational pace, which is what I usually try to stick to.

image

And when I finished I felt more like me. Tired, yes. More tired than I should have been. But at least I’m absolutely certain again that my speed will come back.

image

If it’ll be back for next weekend remains to be seen. But at least it’s not in a black hole of unreachability. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are the numbers for Week Nine:

Thursday – 10 km
Saturday – 10 km
Sunday – 5 km

With added bonus of having no weird aches or pains at the moment. I think I have a new favourite after run stretch. It’s worked wonders for my calves and hamstrings.

After I’ve done my regular routine, I stand with my forefeet on the doorstep while drinking my post run water and just ever so lightly swing forward with my body. I can feel that stretch all the way from my Achilles to hamstrings.

Plus. It’s so unbothersome. ๐Ÿ˜‰

image

And how perfect has this week been when it comes to running weather? In fact, it’s so lovely I think I’ll take an evening walk tonight.

K.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Week Nine Recap and Race Goals

  1. My heavens I can so relate to “not worrying” about speed, its so much easier said than done! I am sure you will get your speed back sooner than later! ๐Ÿ™‚

    On another note I nominated you for the Bouquet of Three Award! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by runningtoherdreams | May 13, 2013, 8:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

