//
you're reading...
free time & relaxation, injuries, long runs, Marathon training, Running

Saturday Vintage

What a day.

Or what yesterday. It’s a minute past midnight as I sit in my bed with my tablet and start typing this up.

Here’s the thing. I love my mom. (Even when she sometimes drives me crazy.) And she loves her mom. (Even if they are like fire and ice when let into the same room. Kaboom! ) So my mom is spending tomorrow’s Mother’s Day out of the city visiting grandma.

This meant that me and my sister did a pre-Mother’s Day with her today.

And we did it vintage style! There was the annual Vintage Tallinn fair today – clothes, jewellery, books, records, bikes, furniture, you name it – so we spent time there and then had a late lunch at this charming restaurant in the Old Town.

image

But.

Before all that went down I had to have my Saturday run.

And boy were my calves feeling nasty when I got up in the morning. The whole forefoot thing is doing a serious number of them. 😦

Ok. So I know that I’m not exactly a speed demon at the moment, so instead of stressing about it… I decided to shake things up a bit.

Enter hill training!

Um. Yes, I did. With the whole sore calves and…

Another thing. Today’s run was in spectacular weather. I was only out for an hour and in that time I saw:

bright blue skies and the oppressing heat of a sunny day,
sunlight make the river sparkle,
heavy fog roll in from the sea and make the river a mysterious game of stump and branch and trees swimming in and out of sight on the sides,
nothing at all besides the toes of my feet,
the city disappear from sight at the seaside stretch,
the city reappear as suddenly as it had gone.

image

This was one big white pea soup mere minutes before. 😮

Oh.

Yes.

Hills.

My brightest idea yet in the continuous row of bright ideas I’ve had this spring. 😉

So I hit up the riverside woodchip covered dirt biking and cross country trails. Up and down I went like a hamster running its wheel.

For three kilometres I did this in the middle of my run. I felt the burn. I felt the indignant anger of my legs at this crazy person in charge of them. And I kept on running.

Until the last kilometre. When just at the nine kilometre mark I hit a final steep 200m uphill stretch and I have to confess to walking about half of it.

And then I hoofed home the final stretch unapologetically heel striking as my Achilles and calves screeched: enough is enough with the bloody forefoot running for today. And I agreed wholeheartedly.

image

I am not apologising for the pace. Or the lack of. All I want is to run and if running right now means slow, I’ll take it. I have all the time in the world and my speed will come back at some point.

And that was before the Vintage.

And the lunch. (Smoked cheese and tomato soup.)

And Star Trek.

And candy. (Again, not apologising. I’m healthy usually and today was the total cheat day.)

And pub crawling with friends where I was the only sober one as I’m not drinking alcohol right now.

So there. Saturday. 🙂

K.

P. S. I think downhill is worse than uphill.
P. P. S. Trekkies, represent!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

