//
you're reading...
diet, Food, Health, long runs, Marathon training, recipes, Running, snacks, walking

The Good, the Stupid, and the Food

Spring is here!

image

(You realise the importance of this statement once you live in a climate where it’s bloody freezing for 2/3 of the year.)

I left work in short sleeves.

The air was still with the possibility of a thunderstrom. The play of sunlight and shadow was awesome.

And I knew I had to run.

Nevermind that I’m still not feeling at the top of my game.

I’d been kept up all night with my leg muscles cramping painfully following my massage yesterday. (My therapist warned me this might happen as we went deep, but… :/)

When I got home I dug out my Big Box of Summer Gear. It was 27°C in sunlight out there, no way was I running in capris and long sleeves.

A short running skirt and tank top were the way to go!

image

And I still overheated! I can’t imagine what those dozens of runners in wind jackets I saw were feeling… (There really was no wind.)

Aaah.

So you know that how when you skip a run in your training plan you shouldn’t try to make up for it? Just move forward with The Plan?

You know it, I know it.

Which is why I went out for five kilometres, which is my Thursday regular.

By the end of the five kilometres I was exhausted, overheated, my lips were stinging with salt…and I was not having fun. I was also disappointed with myself as apparently I’ve lost any and all claim to speed.

I was also at the seaside ready to walk home. And there was a cool seaside breeze. And I made this snap decision to run just a little bit more.

Just a little. Because it was so much nicer and cooler (and smellier!) near the sea.

And then it happened.

Somewhere in the sixth kilometre I snapped into the zone. I got the high, I blinked out and when I blinked back in, three kilometres had passed.

And then I thought I might as well make it an even ten. Seeing as I was not tired at all.

image

And this, ladies and gents, is how my back-from-ilness five turned into a what-did-i-just-do ten.

For my cool down, I just walked a kilometre and half route home. And followed up with a proper stretching routine for once.

Here’s to hoping the stupid won’t come back to bite! I feel great now, though. 🙂

I also celebrated my first day of real food after three days of nothing but bananas and rice cakes by making a new batch of faux-larabars!

image

Coconut-raisin-almond

70g of oatmeal
30g of shredded coconut
120g of almonds
250g of golden raisins

Blend, blend, blend! Makes 12 bars.

While I usually prefer my raisins big and dark, the slightly sour taste of golden raisins works so well with the coconut. 🙂

K.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Good, the Stupid, and the Food

  1. I love your blog, have I said that before? 🙂

    Posted by MrsB | May 11, 2013, 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

