//
you're reading...
Marathon training, Running, short runs

Week Eight Recap

The Plan did not come together at all this week, but… I’m still pushing on. 🙂

After cutting my run short on Saturday I still decided to keep my Sunday running date with mom. Even if it seemed that everything was against us – from both of us feeling a bit under the weather to the horrid freezing wind.

And boy that run was something. Tough. 

I guess I’m still not up to fighting status.

image

So that didn’t go so good.

On the positive side. Running with my mom. Running out of my regular neighbourhood. Hot sauna followed by a good meal.

My mom’s such an excellent cook. 🙂 She made chicken and sweet pea soup with coconut milk and a gluten free berry ricotta cake. Yumness! I got to bring home a slice as well.

Talking to mom I also made a split second decision.

I signed up for a half marathon in six weeks! 😮

I had not planned to run one this year. All my effort was supposed to go to following the marathon Plan. But. This one just fits so well into my marathon plan. It’s on the 22nd of June and the Plan actually asks for a 21 km run on that Saturday so… I figured why not?

Now. This will absolutely be a training run for the marathon.

Omg. Now I have to figure out if I want housing or if I’m just gonna take the train there in the morning and back in the evening. It’s a two hour train ride away. And the start for the HM is after three in the afternoon so that means I have to figure out lunch! It’s weird. Racing day breakfast is easy, but lunch…

Maybe the best idea would be breakfast in the morning and breakfast for lunch. :p

I am kinda excited. 😀 😀 It’s my first.

And here’s the mileage for Week Eight:

Tuesday – 9.5km
Thursday – 5km
Saturday – 7km
Sunday – 5km

Total of 26.5km (four less than intended). Also a bit of biking on Wednesday.

Week Nine is supposed to be cutback week, but I’m thinking that as this week turned out to be light in mileage… We’ll see.

I’m still battling some aftereffects of the bug that hit me on Friday, so not feeling too fantastic.

But.

It’s warm!

image

It’s four weeks til summer break.

I have my first half marathon in a month and a half!

🙂

K.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

