//
you're reading...
injuries, Marathon training, Running, short runs

Week Seven Recap and a Cadence Update

So, there’s this old Russian cartoon that I’m sure every kid growing up in Estonia in the 80s knows.

The little hedgehog lost in fog. 🙂

This is what running today felt like.

image

A bit of a contrast from yesterday, wouldn’t you say?

Just goes to prove I should have waited for late afternoon again as it’s blue skies now.

Anyhow. Today, the Plan called for five kilometres. So five kilometres is what got set in Endomondo as goal and off I went. And we’re friends again. No hiccups with the app today. 🙂

image

But just in case it malfunctioned again, I switched on a backup app with the additional bonus of checking my cadence.

Good news?

image

I’m now able to bunnyrabbit my way through five kilometres without much effort to keep my feet moving. The rhythm of the music really works better for me than a metronome. I think mostly because I vastly prefer running with music.

Bad news?

The impact recorded is much more than I’d like. 😦

And my calves!

Actually. The outside area of my right calf which was feeling a bit tight yesterday.

It was fine this morning. And when I started running. But by the end of the run it was pretty painful. And when I looked down on my leg after the run, there was a swollen lump on the outside of my calf.

Like seriously. I wasn’t kidding when I said I was injury prone.

Right now I’m on my third round of icing and keeping the foot elevated.

It’s not painful to walk on, but pretty darn painful to touch. 😦

Ugh.

Google reveals muscle hernia as the most likely culprit. Not dangerous, shouldn’t stop me from running, but a nuisance and not too pretty to look at. It’s like a grape attached to the side of my leg. And if it’s a hernia, it’s not going anywhere.

(Now call me vain, but I’d hoped that pulled toenails and blisters would be the worst visible damage to my feet and legs. :()

Here’s Week Seven in Numbers:

Tuesday – 8 km
Thursday – 5 km
Saturday – 14 km (possibly a bit more)
Sunday – 5 km

Running total 32 km. Add in a few km of post run walking and 30ish of relaxed biking. 🙂

K.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Week Seven Recap and a Cadence Update

  1. I am so sorry to hear that you are hurt! That totally sucks…. Shall we start an injury club? I think so. Tell me more about this cadence app?

    Posted by fitspireme | April 29, 2013, 3:58 am
    • Injuries are all part of the game. I might whine a bit or take a short break, but I always pick it up again and don’t let them stop me. You kinda have to being injured as often as I am. :p

      The app I use is called Run Safe from Google play. 🙂

      Posted by klmv | April 29, 2013, 6:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

