//
you're reading...
Food, Health, injuries, Marathon training, meals

Those Forced Breaks

…of Doom!

Well then.

Turns out that my cut-back week is now recovery week. 😦

I’m one of those obsessive runners who hates missing a run. Firstly, because I love running, and secondly because I love plans and checklists and ticking things off from The Plan (aka my this year’s marathon training guide).

So, as the countdown widget on the blog shows four months to go, and according to The Plan I’m supposed to enter week six of training… I find myself in a spot of trouble.

My darling, my darling my left leg, which has never given me any trouble, is screaming. All my injuries (and there have been a few) have always been centered around my right foot. As in the forefoot and ankle. I’ve barely ever had a twinge anywhere in my legs. Let alone the left one.

So, when I woke up with soreness in my hamstrings on Sunday, I chalked it up to not stretching properly the day before. And ran.

When it was still painful on Monday, I counted my lucky stars that I had a day to rest and walked through the pain.

When I woke up today with a hard, painful knot on the back of my thigh, unable to walk without a limp… I got worried.

I limped to work, still hoping it was muscle soreness that could be walked off… only to realise that I was unable to walk up the stairs at work, as my leg refused to lift off the ground enough.

Cue a round of cursing. :/

Called up the sports massage therapist (who I hadn’t seen in a year, my bad) and instead of running, spent my evening there. So, basically seems like I have a minor to moderate tear. F***!

I do not do injury well.

In other news, I’ve apparently messed up my back in the year since I saw her last. It’s all painful spots that made deep tissue massage impossible. So, while I wait for the leg to heal, I have massage appointments every other day to get my back…back. :p

And while a part of me is screaming at me, “Run! Follow the plan,” my head knows by now that rest and recovery are more important for longterm goals than trying to outrun an injury.

(This is more wisdom than last year, when a minor injury ignored eventually took me out of the game for two months.)

In order for this post not to be all whine, here’s dinner:

image

Stuffed Portobellos

Portobello mushrooms stuffed with leek, yellow bell peppers, leek and creme cheese. Yum! 🙂

K.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Those Forced Breaks

  1. Injuries suck big time but you have PLENTY of time to heal properly and then get back into your training plan! Don’t panic! Don’t rush it! You’ll be fine 😀

    Posted by MrsB @ Mind over Matter | April 16, 2013, 4:24 pm
  2. Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

    Posted by healthiestbeauty | April 16, 2013, 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

