//
you're reading...
deserts, diet, Food, free time & relaxation, Health, hiking, injuries, long runs, Marathon training, meals, recipes, Running

KT Magic and the Weekend Breakast

I’m compiling my shopping list for next week and waiting for the rain to ease up a bit before heading out for my Sunday recovery run.

This is the first time all weekend I’ve had a moment to breathe really.

Let’s look at Saturday.

Now, The Plan called for a 13km run. But I really really didn’t have time for it. But then again, The Plan also says that it’s ok to skip a short run once in a while, but not a long run.

So. Time had to be made.

Long story short, I was up from seven running errands, got home by noon, immediately headed out for the run. I slightly miscalculated my route, so when Endomondo beeped the 13km mark… I was still about 2km from home.

It was also 1.34 in the afternoon and I was supposed to be on a train out of the city at 2.40 for a hike with some friends.

So I phoned for a taxi, speedwalked home, took a five minute shower and ran out the door with my hair still wet.

I made it to the train! And proceeded to have a two hour hike on the mushy icy forest roads around Tallinn. Followed by food and sauna.

I think the sauna was my saving grace. 🙂 Because I definitely didn’t have time for stretching after my run, and even if my muscles feel a bit achey today…it’s not as bad as I thought.

😀

Also, as my forefoot pain has been lingering all week, one of my Saturday morning errands was picking up some KT tape. That stuff is awesome! It hasn’t failed me before and didn’t this time. No pains or aches or soreness since taping up yesterday morning. 🙂

Ooh, back to the run itself.

It was raining.

I love rain when I run. In summer. When it’s warmer.

This rain, accompanied by strong bone freezing wind? Not so much. I had about a two kilometre stretch on a seaside promenade and it was completely against the wind.

Felt like literally running against a wet wall. I was barely able to keep up a sub 7 pace for those two kilometres, and running them felt incredibly exhausting.

image

Still, other than that, it was a nice and satisfying run.

Brought to you by my weekend indulgence breakfast: oatmeal pancakes. 🙂

image

Oatmeal Pancake

So easy, so good.

The recipe:

1/2 cup of oat flakes (whole grain)
1/4 cup of flaxseed
1/2 cup of water (or milk if you prefer)
1 egg
Pinch of salt
A teaspoon of honey

***

Olive oil to cook, and cinnamon and honey to serve.

***

Grind up the oat flakes and flaxseed to a rough “flour” in a food processor, and the salt and water, egg and honey. Cook on medium heat until ready. Serve with honey and cinnamon or fresh fruit and berries.

🙂

I’m such an oats lover, I find this “pancake” super delicious. And the roughness of the texture (not using ready made oat flour) is what makes it.

K.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “KT Magic and the Weekend Breakast

  1. So you like oatmeal, KT tape and you have foot problems like me!?!?? How are we not friends! 🙂 I will definitely have to try out your oatmeal pancake recipe, it looks and sounds awesome!

    Posted by ratherberunnin | April 14, 2013, 2:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

