//
you're reading...
Marathon training, Running, running clothes and gear, short runs

Let’s Talk About Clothes

Because every once in a while I skim an article titled “10 Reasons to Start Running” or something following a similar theme.

Now, I don’t think a lot of people pick up running thanks to promotional articles (me, I just woke up one morning and decided to run) but I have this curiosity to find out what’s being written about something I love.

And you know what? These articles often talk about clothes. And shoes. And how running is this incredible cheap option to get fit because you don’t really need anything besides a pair of shoes.

I don’t think they’ve ever been a year around runner in a climate with four distinct seasons, with a five month winter where temperatures hover between -5 and -25 degrees Celsius and a summer where the hottest days may top the 30 mark.

Trust me, running outside here is not a cheap sport. The amount of clothing I’ve accumulated is mind boggling. And I actually do need it all to be able to run comfortably outside for 12 months a year.

That said.

With sheer glee is was finally able to pack away my long thermal underwear two weeks ago. That still left me with the thermal tights, longsleeved thermal top and jacket.

Today was the first run this year when I felt warm in this getup. 😀

Even without the sun, the air lacked that distinct chill.

When I was doing my cool down walk towards home, I didn’t feel like I was courting pneumonia by walking outside in my sweaty running clothes.

Guys, I think it’s spring!

image

I think I can dig out the boxes with the lighter running clothes.

It might be possible to pack up those thermal tights and that thermal long sleeved top and replace them with capris (!) and a regular top.

Though caution tells me to keep the warmer jacket for the time being.

Still. Lighter layers. Actual sun on my calves.

I feel like a kid being handed a present! 😀

I had a literal spring in my step today as I was finally able to run on the soft mushy ground next to the pavement after so many months.

There’s just nothing like running on trails. Or grass. Or mud even. Even if I need to pay more attention to where I’m putting my feet.

image

The Short short run of the week done. 🙂 Another soy cappuccino fuelled run. Other than that, still running on empty. Which seems to be my motus operandi for workday runs…

K.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Clothes

  1. Running is expensive I don’t care what other people say! And I don’t even have to deal with snow, well very rarely anyway, just rain, LOTS of rain! Thanks for visiting my blog, I like yours too, heading on over to your food section NOW.

    Posted by Krista @ Read.Bake.RUN.Repeat. | April 13, 2013, 3:47 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Instagram
Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

