//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Here we go again!

About fifteen months ago I was already dreaming of my first half marathon with barely a ten kilometre run under my belt. 

In all honesty, that didn’t work out so well. I overestimated myself and did too much too soon and too fast. Maybe some day I’ll dig out my training journals from that time and reminisce a bit. Maybe. Maybe not. 

But I do feel that by now I need a different outlet for my running journals. Something both more and less personal than I’ve tried before. I think the paper notebooks I used in the beginning have exhausted themselves as anything more than a record of numbers – calories, kilometres, minutes, seconds – and general aches and pains related to a particular running day. 

Paper notebooks, while wonderfully nostalgic and solid, lack the option of feedback that the blogosphere offers. 

So here I am. A blogger among others. A budding runner among others. A girl with a whole baggage of issues that affect me and my health. Like others. 

And someone who wants to – and boy, do I *want* to – run my first marathon the coming autumn. 

🙂 

Like last year, I didn’t invent anything but took a training plan I found online. Unlike last year, I went with a plan meant for beginners disregarding any time goals for a first marathon and customised it to better suit my habits and work week. 

Now, the biggest challenge – besides the growing weekend long runs and finding an x-training alternative that works for me – will be to fit in various summer races of varying lengths and long family weekends when it’s highly unlikely I can run. 

Will bite that bullet when I come to it. 

Still have three weeks to the first race of the season and that luckily doesn’t mess with my running plan prescriptions too much. 🙂 

So. Here we go again! I’m at week four with five months to go. 

It’s still icy, slippery and cold and I’m still occasionally looked at as a crazy person when I go for my runs outside. 

K. 

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Here we go again!

  1. good luck and hope you enjoy it! if you need any tips let me know 😉

    Posted by runner unleashed | April 1, 2013, 7:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Running for Myself

... because that's the only way to do it

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

The Princess and the Jog

If the running shoe fits

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Run Don't Run

Sometimes running, sometimes not

fairweatherrunner

running blog

278 to Boston

In July 2011, I weighed 278 lbs. On Mar 12, 2013 I made the decision to qualify for the Boston Marathon. This is my journey.

The Way I Run My Life

Running, living, things I love

Counting On Health

from 1 to 100

See Teacher Run...

... because that's the only way to do it

Daily Cup of Asheejojo

daily doses of food + fitness

workout to wineglass

music, travel, running, fitness, food, libations, fun!

Mama On A Mission

My mission to make my life great!

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

